Tags

, , , , ,

Earlier this year, I got the chance to work on a rather exciting project; one which, as primarily a book illustrator, I had no experience in.

kmposterfinal1png-1400

In Winter tour poster design. Ink and gouache on Arches hot pressed.

It was as a result of coming across The Nutcracker in a bookstore that Katie Melua got in touch with me to work with her on her new music album, In Winter; then still in progress but now to be released later this week.

The project began with the tour poster design and was followed by an album cover and three internal album illustrations — which I will share later. Katie was very kind and a real pleasure to work with. She was involved with every step of the progress of all the illustrations and was keenly alert to the kind of visual languages I was familiar with, often knowing exactly which sources to point towards to help guide me. She and her team were also wonderfully patient and understanding of the time I needed for completion.

katiemeluafulltourflyerpng-1600

katiemeluauktourflyerpng-1400

In May, shortly after the finalised posters with the tour dates were released and tickets went on sale, I received the loveliest surprise when Nimwendil on Twitter sent me a photo of the poster which he saw on the Paris Metro. The best part was that I had mentioned nothing of the project hitherto, but Nim was able to recognise it as my work.

kmposterparismetrobynim

More to follow soon!

