Tags

, , ,

Oh, dear, I’ve been busy and have neglected the blog again. Allow me to post this quick stopgap to keep it ticking over.

'... in this state of swelling resentment, and mutually deep mortification, they had to continue' Pencil, sketchbook page.

‘… in this state of swelling resentment, and mutually deep mortification, they had to continue’
Pencil, sketchbook page.

This rough sketch of Emma’s ‘tête-à-tête drive’ with Mr. Elton was one of the many pieces which turned out to be far better than their final counterparts when I did the illustrations for Jane Austen’s Emma in 2006, published by The Folio Society (with perhaps one exception). I gave Emma a calash, a pelisse, and a muff here, but eschewed all in favour of simply a hooded cloak in the final illustration, since I felt that the short distance between Randalls and Hartfield together with the carriage drive probably made them unnecessary. It was a pity, as I felt the visual interest was considerably reduced then. If only that was all that was wrong with the final piece…

