Tags

, , , , , ,

'Part of my lace is gone... and I do not know how I am to contrive' Emma Woodhouse, Harriet Smith and Mr Elton. Pen & ink and watercolour on 140lb/300gsm Arches hot pressed, 287 x 202mm.

‘Part of my lace is gone… and I do not know how I am to contrive’
Emma Woodhouse, Harriet Smith and Mr Elton.
Pen & ink and watercolour on 140lb/300gsm Arches hot pressed, 287 x 202mm.

Illustration for Jane Austen’s Emma, published by the Folio Society, 2007. This is the only illustration I’m happy with from this book, and one of the (increasingly) few pieces from the three Austen novels I did for Folio that I can still stand. Though I would alter Harriet’s feet now (in fact, the more I think about it, the more I feel it must be done, past work notwithstanding).

It was displayed at the British Library in the Folio Society Gallery as part of the exhibition, ‘A Houseful of Books: 60 years of the Folio Society’ in 2007. At the private view, one lady very kindly told me that it was her second favourite illustration of the exhibit, her most being an illustration for Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina by Angela Barrett, which, incidentally, was my own favourite piece there. I couldn’t have been more flattered.

